Vivaldi: The French Connection 2

“Chandler counts further success with a second volume of concertos whose gallicisms range from patrons to genuine style-imprints, to the provenance of the original manuscript paper...La Serenissima remain buoyant and sweet, eschewing the taut, opaque sound of many of today's Baroque orchestras, and embracing something more relaxed and open, helped by a pleasing bloom.” --Gramophone Magazine, October 2011

“Chandler's tight control gives freedom not constriction. The ensemble is spotless even on the whipping string flourishes of Paris Concerto No. 2 Every detail has meaning.” --Classic FM Magazine

“Chandler has put together a fascinating programme among which are some rarities including two 'world premiere recordings'...Katy Bircher and Chandler himself are the respective soloists [in RV431a] and their warm-sounding, eloquently stylish playing is a constant delight.” --BBC Music Magazine *****

“Another intriguing, excellently packaged and delivered volume in Chandler’s Vivaldi series. He is as much scholar as performer, and his notes offer useful background about the musical exchanges between France and Italy...The playing is beautifully articulated, with first-class work from the soloists.” --Sunday Times ****

Share this article :

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2011. Top Music - DVD - All Rights Reserved
Proudly powered by Blogger